Words from Quaker Faith & Practice:

“Do you recognise the needs and gifts of each member of your family and household, not forgetting your own? Try to make your home a place of loving friendship and enjoyment, where all who live or visit may find the peace and refreshment of God’s presence.”

 

Quaker responses to war

Bristol Quakers World Wars Action Group

 

Wars will stop only when each of us is convinced that war is never the way.

Quaker faith & practice

Lecture by Diana Francis

Peace by Peaceful Means
Chaired by John Neugebauer and followed by discussion

Wednesday 19 March 7.00-9.15pm : Entrance free

Quaker Redland Meeting House, 126 Hampton Road, Bristol BS6 6JE

Part of Churches Together in Clifton, Cotham and Redland’s Lent Lecture series

 

Quaker Service Exhibition

Twelve panels illustrating Quaker Relief Work and the Friends Ambulance Service

Monday 17 March to Sunday 23 March at

Redland Quaker Meeting House, 126 Hampton Road, Bristol, BS6 6JE

and

Monday 24 March to Wednesday 16 April in

Foyer of Bristol Central Library, College Green, Bristol BS1 5TL

 

Lecture by Paul Rogers, Professor of Peace Studies at the University of Bradford

1945-2045: A Century on the Edge

Chaired by Malcolm Evans

Thursday, 15 May from 7.00pm

Reception Room, Wills Memorial Building, Queen’s Road, Bristol BS8 1RJ

There will be a retiring collection for the Oxford Research Group

Bristol Quakers Annual Peace Lecture

Poetry Reading

Especially those of Isaac Rosenberg

Wednesday, 11 June  6.00–7.30pm

Foyles bookshop, 6 Quakers Friars, Cabot Circus, Bristol BS1 3BU

 

Public Meeting : Alternatives to War

Saturday 20 September, 10.00am-3.00pm (with shared lunch)

Redland Quaker Meeting House, 126 Hampton Road, Bristol BS6 6JE

Part of Bristol Area Quakers Meeting for Church Affairs

  

Dates for Bristol Area Quaker Meetings in 2014

The schedule for Area Meetings this year is as follows:

Thursday 23 January               7.00pm at Horfield

Thursday 20 February            7.00pm at Central

Saturday 22 March                  All day at Frenchay from 10.00am to 4.30pm with shared lunch at 1.00pm

Thursday 24 April                    7.00pm at Redland

Sunday 22 June                       2.30pm at Thornbury

Sunday 20 July                        1.00pm for 2.00pm at Bedminster

Saturday 20 September          All day at Redland from 10.00am to 4.30pm with shared lunch at 1.00pm

Wednesday 22 October          7.00pm at Horfield

Sunday 23 November             2.30pm at Frenchay

 

Bristol Area Meeting Christmas Day Meeting for Worship 2014

11.00 - 11.30am on Thursday 25 December 2014

at Redland Quaker Meeting, 126 Hampton Road, Redland, Bristol BS6 6JE

 

(Last update: March 15, 2014)