Words from Quaker Faith & Practice:

“We are called to live ’in the virtue of that life and power that takes away the occasion of all wars’. Do you faithfully maintain our testimony that war and the preparation for war are inconsistent with the spirit of Christ? Search out whatever in your own way of life may contain the seeds of war. Stand firm in our testimony, even when others commit or prepare to commit acts of violence, yet always remember that they too are children of God.”

 

Quaker responses to war

Bristol Quakers World Wars Action Group

Wars will stop only when each of us is convinced that war is never the way.

Public Meeting : Alternatives to War

Saturday 20 September, 10.00am-3.00pm (with shared lunch)

Redland Quaker Meeting House, 126 Hampton Road, Bristol BS6 6JE

Part of Bristol Area Quakers Meeting for Church Affairs

  

Dates for Bristol Area Quaker Meetings in 2014

The schedule for Area Meetings this year is as follows:

Thursday 23 January               7.00pm at Horfield

Thursday 20 February            7.00pm at Central

Saturday 22 March                  All day at Frenchay from 10.00am to 4.30pm with shared lunch at 1.00pm

Thursday 24 April                    7.00pm at Redland

Sunday 18 May                         2.30pm at Bedminster

Sunday 22 June                       2.30pm at Thornbury

Sunday 20 July                        1.00pm for 2.00pm at Portishead

Saturday 20 September          All day at Redland from 10.00am to 4.30pm with shared lunch at 1.00pm

Wednesday 22 October          7.00pm at Horfield

Sunday 23 November             2.30pm at Frenchay

 

Bristol Area Meeting Christmas Day Meeting for Worship 2014

11.00 - 11.30am on Thursday 25 December 2014

at Redland Quaker Meeting, 126 Hampton Road, Redland, Bristol BS6 6JE

 

(Last update: July 02, 2014)